Transport in Cambodia? yea right.

Cambodia. Traveling through the rough and rigid jungle roads during rainy season- IMPOSSIBLE. Why did we choose to be the dumbass backpackers to attempt this?

Here’s an excerpt from my journal…

6/23/2009

WHAT WERE WE THINKING?! TRAVELING IN RAINY SEASON IN NORTHERN CAMBODIA? WHERE GETTING FROM POINT A TO POINT B ON A SUNNY DAY TAKES HOURS, HOW ARE WE SUPPOSE TO DO IT IN A MONSOON?

I am writing while sitting on an old decaying palm tree trunk, swatting these annoying neon green flies that won’t stop biting me, and staring at the mess before me.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A “road” and I say a road in quotes because I don’t think it comes close to classifying as a road at all– it’s more like the best slip ‘n’ slide you could ever imagine. This “road” has 7 inch grooves EVERYWHERE and it is to SLIPPERY to WALK ON. I just saw a few people bust their ass trying to ice skate across it. The life-sucking mud is everywhere. There’s no escaping it. It is trying to eat our bus right now and it is winning. There is a line of people, trucks, cars, tractors, animals, motorbikes… all stuck and no one seems to know what to do. Here’s the run down- 1 watermelon truck, 1 dumpster truck, 3 big buses, a shit ton of vans, a few tractors, and of course to many motorbikes to count. This line goes on as far as I can see in BOTH directions. Everyone has left their stifling hot vehicles and we are all sitting stranded on the side of the road waiting helplessly. My question: what are we waiting for, dry season to come around again?

I feel my blood boiling. The Cambodians? Calm, cool, & collected. It is obviously a daily occurence for them.

I tried to get to the bottom of it and get someone to tell me what we were waiting for, how long, and what we were all going to do. I was told, “No one can go because the road is far to slippery and the bigger trucks and buses are sliding OFF the “ROAD”. We are waiting for a TRACTOR to come tow us all out!”

Until then, we sit here. Swatting neon flies. Staring around in Amazement. Avoiding the mud at all costs. & Sweating a lot. Oh, Cambodia.

-nicky-

Leave a Reply

